TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Successful people are always appreciated by others. It is helpful to know what attributes of these people are and try to copy these useful characteristics. Some state that successful people try new thing and take risks. I agree with this statement because of the following reason.

First, in a fast-changing world, by being successful, people need to be flexible. Technologies and science are developing fast. The requirement of a job market will change and employers will need skills which correspond to this changing. So, people need to develop a wider range of experience and skills to adapt to this situation. People who try new thing need to increase their knowledge and their skills. As a result, they are more flexible and more adaptable than others for this changing. On the other hand, people who do the same thing and have limited skills may lose their job because those skills don’t request by employers and society. For instance, I remember when computer entered Iran, many people didn’t know how to use it. So, only people who learn it sooner than others could get more opportunities and got a better job.

Second, trying new thing and taking a risk, successful people have more talents and skills than others. People who try new thing, have to develop their knowledge. In some cases, they have to create something. So, their talents will flourish and develop. For instance, Mark Zuckerburg who is a founder of Facebook was a computer engineer. At first, he wanted to write a social network only for his university. But, he developed that from all over the world and now Facebook is one of the biggest social networks in the world. He is one of the successful people in the world because he develops his talents. During his work, he received a heavy criticism by others. But, he took a risk and didn’t stop working and finally he got to succeed.

Finally, successful people cause fundamental changes in our society. They are recognized as a prosperous people because they improve a quality of life in communication or invent something that facilitates doing a task in industrial. For example, Edison invents electricity that causes many changes in the world leading advancement in industry and society.

To sum up, trying to do a new thing and taking risk is the main characteristics of successful people. Doing new thing cause these people be more flexible than others, their talents and their abilities are flourished and they cause improvement in the quality of life their criteria society