TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

There is no shortage of debate whether it is better to have strong relationships or study hard to succeed in a job. As far as I am concerned people should lever themselves with higher-ups in order to get their best in a job rather than kill large amounts of books. I cling to this outlook for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, having contacts is the best way to cut corners in getting good skills for a job because experienced people always can teach you or give clues about how to do your best in a work environment. To clarify my point, let me take myself as an example, when I get fired in my last job, I did not feel sad nor stressful, due to the fact that I had a bunch of friends surrounded me and willing to help me out, so I decided to ask Julio –a great friend of mine- to give me some pieces of advice on how to be a better worker, and to then introduce myself to some great businesses which may could hire me. As a result of my friend’s help, now I have a great job and my boss is really glad about how I work.

Secondly, It is common knowledge that a person, who has studied a lot, should have a great job. But, It is not in general because I know lots of men, who have studied for around seven years and do not have a great job as mine. It is because meeting people, who can influence you with their mindset, you can know how to be an accurate worker. For instance, my co-worker is a master with three PhDs, but he is not as good as me, he usually asks me work-related questions and help, because he has never experienced a real work atmosphere, so he is associating theory with the real applications. Accordingly, I think that although you study for a long time, you will need to have great friends in order to be a better worker.

To sum up, I strongly believe that people should focus more on getting contacts because those will help them to be better while doing in a job because they will teach important knowledge and make you change your mindset in the best way possible.