TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Young people have been changing over the past of the years in many ways, their lifestyles are busier, they do not have time for taking a walk, and so forth. Therefore, I agree that a community life is also affected by today’s different young people, due to the fact that they focus on other things than on just helping their community. I cling to this outlook because of two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the technological advance has created a virtual world in which everyone can rely on to go through this life, in fact, if a young man, nowadays, wanted to ask his neighbor for something, he would better surf into the internet and thus he would be saving lots of time. Besides, people nowadays are extremely addicted to their smartphones, they prefer to call their neighbors instead of going to see them. Therefore, if a community member had a problem, their neighbors would not be totally available to help them because they are stuck to their cellphones. For instance, my friend told me last night that one day, he needed some help from his mechanic neighbor, but the mechanic man said that he could not resolve his problem because he did not know how to do it, the next day, my friend found out that the mechanic was in call with his girlfriend and he did not hang out, for that he did not want to help him.

Secondly, it is common knowledge that the world is more competitive now than in the past, because of this, people need to struggle a lot if they want to succeed in life. Young people have worries about what they need to do for the university or college, mothers are worried about their children and the house, and father about their businesses or jobs. So, there is no time to help neighbors. In the past was normal that a community mother joined to another mother’s house to cook because both mothers had time to do it, but right now is much different. To clarify my point, let me take as an example, a week ago, a neighbor of mine came to my house to ask me a favor related to his homework, however I could not help him because on that day I had a bunch of homework to complete too, so I denied to do it. This clearly explains why people nowadays do not have time to help their community partners.

To sum up, I strongly believe that today’s young people are not altruistic with their neighbors because they have more important things to do such as looking for something on the internet or trying to fulfill their daily labors.