TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there are too many sources of information from different means such as TV, papers, Internet, or just on the street. But the question is “Are those news resources valuable for people? Or can people get good information from them? In my opinion, those news sites are really useful for making people aware of what is going on in their city or country. Also, News should be revised first and then they come out, therefore people can trust on the information provided on them.

First of all, it is common knowledge that by hearing or reading news, you can understand the world where you live in, besides if you watch the news, you will always have the updated information which can give you more things to speak about with other people. For instance, yesterday I was with my father in law trying to have a conversation with him, but nothing came up, so as I had read something in the newspaper about the decrease in fruit’s prices, I tried with it, and we were talking around an hour, which helped me to get his confidence. This is how news could help you out by giving you more things to talk about.

Second, News businesses in order to come out information, they should revise first that there are no grammar errors and bad spelling. For that reason, people can ultimately be unconcerned about the fake news. Furthermore, information posted in news has some constraints, so if a child reads it, it will not be a problem. For example, there is a newspaper in Ecuador so-called EL UNIVERSO, which has an educational section for kids, and there are a lot of interesting mini-articles about science on it. As a result, even children are benefited with good resources from newspapers.

To sum up, the more you read the News, the more educated and well-informed you become, because you will have a bunch of topics to speak about, and you will have a pre-revision of news which will make you confident of the information you receive.