TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Admittedly, public awareness regarding educational subjects and teacher's role have significantly increased over the last decades. While some people have argued that instructors' opinion in different topics like political and social ones have to be concealed due to its aftermaths, others believe that it can benefit students in a number of ways. To the best of my knowledge, the former view outweigh the latter one based on the following concerns.

There is a little room for doubt that the main function of any teaching institutions is to provide information in assigned courses. In fact, teachers should concentrate on imparting those information accounts which have been known as school-learning curriculum. Hence, teachers' remarking about others subjects not only can be confusing but also it consumes student their valuable amount of time. In fact, student less ability to realize deep connotation related to presidential election, as an example, might bored them, in turn, their time can be allocated to educational issue or interesting one.

Moreover, students, especially at younger age, are vulnerable while getting informed from different occurrences in their surrounding area. In most occasions, they might harbor biased perception toward a specific issue in politics or society and consequently, act impulsively based on their teacher's opinion. Consider a situation, when a teacher declares his idea in politics openly. Students harbor different positions toward teachers' mindsets without any consideration but based on their relationship with their teachers. Hence, controversial statements might mislead students and impair teaching process thoroughly.

On the other hand, there has been some occasions which freedom in teacher's speaking have its own redeeming features. First, student's intervention in other materials convey democratic concept. In fact, free discussion might help them to realize that how to deal with adverse political or social setting. In addition, it has played a pivotal role in broadening their horizon and as a result, both their mental ability and intellectual skill can be flourished. Last but not least, students 'self-confidence will certainly boost if they experience a real situation with the onset of both positive and negative thoughts.

From what have been discussed, the demerits of teacher's opinion disclosure might adversely affect students' learning process. As it was mentioned, not only is it time-consuming and confusing but also might mislead them. However, some free discussion can benefit student mental abilities.