TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, computer technology is set to play a significant role in the people's daily life than ever before. According to this assumption that computer games are sort of time-wasting activities, the discussion has centered on whether children should be permitted to play or not. While I believe from broad perspective, it can be either beneficial or harmful, I tend to agree on such a view based on the following concerns.

The first point to support this is that advances in computer technology especially some specific programs can put children at different risks in psychological term. To begin with, having been exposure on violent video games not only has made children more aggressive but also it caused growing rate in criminal behavior. In fact, recent studies have revealed that there is a direct correlation between observing violence in mass media or computer games and the juvenile delinquency. Even though some developed countries have banned these computer games, the advent of internet has facilitated the accessibility of them.

Another drawback of computer games can be the long-term impacts that have stemmed from its excessive use. Indeed, children are susceptible to contract serious disease unless they regularly have involved in physical activities and social interactions. However, having been sat sequential hours in front of video games deteriorate the health and might bring about lack in eye-vision or obesity. In addition, immersed in computer games also might cause sense of loneliness or isolated and make children to be indifferent with the surrounding environments

On the other side, both parents and instructors can take advantage from educational games. In fact, there has been a wide range of useful games which have been programmed to enhance students' deep understanding and other thinking skills. Monitored use of these games not only flourish mental dexterities but also can be regarded as happy balance between the pressure of campus and off-campus life.

From what have been discussed, the disadvantage of computer games can outweigh it redeeming feature. As it was stated, deterioration in mental and physical aspects of children life style such as obesity, more aggression or sense of loneliness are its demerits. However, erratic use of these games as an educational instruments should not be overlooked.