TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the development of technology proceeds with any kind of concerns likewise, social and political concerns. Where ever you go, you can see a group of people talking about society or politics. In this regard, people are having a controversy about this issue, whether the teachers should make their social or political views known to students in the classroom or not. I am personally against this idea and believe that the classroom is not the appropriate place for this kind of debates. I cling to my viewpoint for three reasons and will illustrate them in the following.

The first aspect to point out is, in the school policy, there is a definition for the classroom, either the teachers or students should follow the rules. To be more clear, a classroom is a place in which, the teacher should try to learn science and manner to the students. On the other hand, students should make effort to pay attention to the teachers and treat them with respect and try to participate in the teaching process. It is a definition of the classroom that strongly in contrasts with unrelated topics such as social or political deliberations. To clarify my point, take a high school class as an example, in such class the teacher is expected to teach mathematics, biology, physics and of course teach the students how to relate well with others.

Apart from the point made above, the deliberations about social and political issues take a lot of time. When they are started, nobody can anticipate the end of the debate, so if they occur in a classroom, it would be a waste of time which, is supposed to be a time in which students learn new facts.

In addition to the points stated above, students are in a critical period of their life due to they are teenagers. They should be given the opportunity to choose their own decisions and path. If a teacher constantly speaks about his beliefs in the classroom, it will influence the students' perspective. Let me take myself as an example, when I was in high school, I had a teacher who always stated his beliefs about politic in the classroom. It influenced me and as a result, I vote wrong in the elections.

All in all, according to forementioned points and examples, I assert the idea that it is wrong when a teacher states his social or political views in the classroom. Although there may be different points of view, I think in order to have a more efficient educational system, it is better to avoid entering personal beliefs in the teaching process.