TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Since the dawn of civilization, people were engaged in social activities. They have always been great social movements and activity in different society. With the help of technology, these social activities thrive faster and easier and it seemed they would grow exponentially. There have been always controversial debates on the rate of influences that people can have on society. In this regard, nowadays, there has been a prevailing debate amongst people that young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Personally speaking, I am in favor of this remark. I assert my viewpoint for two reasons and will illustrate them in the following.

The first aspect to be mentioned is that by a historical survey, one can observe the growth of civilization followed by an enormous growth in governments. To be more clear, when societies started to construct, they realize that they need a centralized authority in order to rule over important disputes such as dividing water for irrigation of farms, as the society evolved, the central authority flourishes rapidly and became a source of power. Nowadays, the governments are becoming the principal part of every society and they make the most important decision for the future f the society, not young people. They are not accepted in taking serious roles in government due to the fact that they have not enough wisdom to make such decisions. In other words, the young people have been eliminated from taking a role in the future destiny of their society.

Apart from the point discussed above, let consider the fault of young people as an issue. Modern youth do not engage themselves in social activities as they did many years ago. This phenomenon can be observed in many countries in which young people are facing lots of difficulties to afford their living costs. In a modern country, a lot of effort is required in order to afford the daily costs of living. One may work hard to be able to live in the cities that require a lot of time and energy. Based on this, young people do not have the time or energy to participate in social activities. Their mind is too busy with their personal lives in a way that they do not consider the social future as their concern. They also have accepted the fact that the government owes the society and its future is in the government hands. Let me take myself as an example, I should work in two places in order to be able to afford my living costs, and that takes my whole concern and energy, thus I am not willing to participate in social activities.

All in all, according to the aforementioned points and example, I am willing to conclude that these days, young people do not engage in their society decisions toward the future. However, there are opposing beliefs that the young people do care about the future of their society but I cling to my viewpoint from the standpoint of the experience that I have from my own country and I believe that can elaborate to other countries as well.