TPO-22 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is indisputable that teachers play a pivotal role in teaching and guidance students in classes. They provide students a lot of precious knowledge which is very necessary for them in the future. However, should teacher show their social or political viewpoints to students? Each person has their own opinion toward this question. Some people approve it but others have the opposite one. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the latter that teachers should not make their social or political point of views in classes because it can reduce studying efficacy and influence viewpoints of students

First and foremost, those teachers express their social or political opinions on the classes could reduce students’ studying efficiencies. In the classes, it is better for both teachers and students to focus on lectures and related problems. Teachers should discuss with students about the lectures, share their researching or working experiences instead of talking about their political viewpoints. It definitely will increase the studying efficacy in the classes. Moreover, it also provides students a lot of real and valuable experiences. They could use these if they face difficulties when they work in the real environment. Indeed, when teachers show their point of views on the classes, it should be considered to waste time of students

Last but not least, when teachers make their social or political viewpoints known to students, they may influence students’ viewpoints. As a matter of fact, students usually do not have definite social or political standpoints. They are quite naive because they pay all their attention on studying and academic issues. Therefore, when teachers like showing their viewpoints, they may discuss or talk continuously about that issues. This really has an influence on the opinions of students, especially when their teachers’ opinions are biased. Additionally, this also prevents the free development of students. For instance, when my teacher usually express his disapproval about government, he makes us have the same opinions with him. Hence, most students of our class consider the policies or agreements of government are wrong or unsuitable without having any understanding about it. Obviously, the viewpoints of teachers have the potential to change the viewpoints of students

All in all, because when teachers manifest their social or political viewpoint on classes, it influences the studying effectiveness and students’ positions, I personally consider this is not a necessary work. I strongly recommend teachers concentrate on teaching and discussing academic-related issues on classes.