TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, in all modern societies, there is a heated doubt among people that whether university professors should share their political and social thoughts for their student. Some people believe this action will increase the social and political knowledge of the students and they can share their thoughts with others on political and social discussions. On the other hand, other individuals think that the priority goal of teachers are teaching and making sure that students will improve on a specific course, so talking about politics or social problems will take much of their time for teaching. I firmly disagree with the statement and I believe teachers should do their job instead of biasing the student's mind. I will substantiate my outstanding reasons in the following essay.

First of all, the only goal of the university professors is enhancing the students' knowledge on a specific course. Teachers are getting paid because of the content that they teach to the students, not by discussing various life issues. For instance, my friend told me that he had a math teacher last semester. His teacher was always finish the algebra teaching on thirty minutes before the class ended, and he start discussing about why our president is so naive. At the end of semester, teacher could not finish teaching the required chapters for the exam, and students studied the remaining content on their own. As a result, Professors should only focus on the main aim that they need to do: Teaching.

Secondly, political or social discussions distract the student's focus. They go to public discussions for viewing the other people political and social point of vies, instead of attending to the library and prepare themselves for their term project and exam. As another example, I had a biology course last year and our teacher was so angry about the increasing the pollution of the city. He believed city governor applied pretty bad rules for controlling the traffic of cars, and this leads to a public pollution. Moreover, I and some of my friends unintentionally always go to some cafe after the class and discussing hours about this issue, even we wrote an article for the university newspaper for the solutions of controlling the pollution. At the end of the semester, we got pretty horrible grades on the biology course, since we could not prepare well for the exam and also, personally, I could not finish my project assignments very well.

All in all, Teachers play a vital role for the society, since they have an indirect effect on the student's thoughts. Political and social issues that are discussed by the teachers not only waste most of the valuable time of the classrooms but also will affect horribly on the students' grade.