TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.Use specific reasons an

Nowadays everything is changing rapidly and for many people keeping up with this pace requires a great deal of effort. Although many people might believe that working slowly has privilege over doing thing faster, I would argue that sometimes it is better to take the risk and increase the pace of working. Despite possible demerits of this decision, I believe that the opportunities could be very limited thus perfectionism and work slowly to gain perfect results could lead to losing precious chances; besides that when you work faster you will have enough time to compensate for the possible mistakes.

First, the chances are usually limited in each person's life. Expecting everything to be perfect by doing things slowly, hoping for flawless and accurate results is not always possible. Work could involve unexpected intrinsic and inevitable mistakes, and once you try to be perfect you are actually missing other chances and losing your time. In addition, if you come up with an error, you will not be able to compensate for it. For instance, as I was doing my master's thesis, despite my classmates, I tried to not waste time on minute details and submit my thesis as soon as possible. However, it did not decrease the quality of my research. I just tried to be fast yet accurate. Therefore, I could finish my masters on time and submit for Ph.D. in my favorite major. In the contrary, my classmate, who was a perfectionist, paid so much attention to every single detail, hoping that it ends up with no error, but unfortunately in the meanwhile one of the lab's facilities, which her entire research was dependent on, broke and she much time and the opportunity of Ph.D. admission for the following semester. This experience, In my opinion, clearly indicates that one should try to avoid wasting time and be as fast as possible in the work in order to catch future chances.

Moreover, we can learn from our mistakes. The experience we gain by making mistakes enable us to avoid them in the future, which consequently increases the efficiency of our work. However, if we try to avoid mistakes by working slowly we might lose the chance of compensation for unavoidable mistakes. For instance, in the same example of my master's thesis, I found a few bugs in the code I was writing by running it many times. I wrote the initial code quite fast and then tried to detect its bugs by try and error. This actually saved me a lot of time. on the other hand, many of my friends first spent time to come up with a perfect and professional code and since the time was limited they had not enough time to evaluate their final outputs. If I had wasted time to make everything perfect, I would never be able to become aware of the variety of possible bugs in programming.

To sum up, based on the arguments explored above, since chances are usually very limited and making mistakes could be beneficial to the efficiency of our work, I believe that it is better to take the risks and work with higher speed to have time for compensating for possible mistakes and gain experience through our mistakes.