TPO-23 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.Use specific reasons and

The high pace of changes is one of the conspicuous aspects of the modern era especially in technology and science. There are many controversial arguments about the trade-off between velocity and accuracy (precision). Some people believe that we should do works quickly, even this speed increase the probability of making mistakes. I disagree with this statement and from my perspective, we should do our work with a calculated precision. The ensuing paragraphs will elaborate my points of view.

First exquisite point to be mentioned is that some mistakes have adverse effect on people’s lives. In better words, some mistakes might hurt people and these damages cannot be compensated anyway. Take Boeing company as example, these days one model of its' airplanes has some serious problems and two number of this model airplanes crashed in a short time in different places and about three hundred people were killed. After some month for finding the plane problem, Boeing provides a report and they told that there is a problem in plane's body near the wing. Therefore, for a careless mistake, three hundreds of people died and nobody can do anything for spouses, children, parents and friends of the victims. In result, some mistakes are fatal and they have bitter consequences.

The second point that comes to my mind is that some mistakes cause repetition. In other words, sometimes we do some works quickly for saving time, but some mistakes force us to spend more time for doing again that work and correcting our mistakes. For instance, my friend and I began to do our thesis at the same time. She just attached much importance to finish her thesis as soon as possible, while I pondered over each issue and question. Finally, she wrote whole of her thesis and she presented her thesis on the judging day. Some referees -professors who judges thesis- found some basic problems in her work and they coerced her to reform these basic problems. Finally, she was successful to finish her thesis two months later than me. Hence, sometimes doing works quickly not only is not time efficient but also is time wasting.

The last but not least, these days there is an intensive competition among producers to present their cutting-edge products earlier than their rivals. Since, they want to increase their sales and acquire more market share. Although, this strategy is so useful (beneficial), there are many cases that a mistake damages the company reputation and the company sale plunges awfully. For example, when Samsung supplied its' new high tech cell phone few years ago, the sale of cell phone was great and people bought millions of, but after two weeks some problems of the new cell phone became clear, there was a problem in battery and it exploded suddenly. All the media reported this mistake and nobody else buy this cell phone. In result, doing works quickly has several advantages, but a simple mistake can eliminate all those benefits.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, some mistakes are so important and we cannot ignore these problems just for being quick.