TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people tend to believe that in today's realities it is more crucial to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to do the work slowly and make sure that everything is correct and under control. Although I can understand people who adhere to the second stance, I am prone to buttress the first viewpoint. The reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, our contemporary world keeps speeding up and we do not have such luxury as time which may be used to reckon every aspect of our actions. Novel technology has appreciably contributed to this fact and such means of communications as cell-phones, smartphones, laptops and desktops demand us to work quickly and efficiently. Otherwise, someone who is faster than you are will win. Probably the most striking illustration of this fact may be found in a stock market which reacts immediately on the slightest change in the forecasts; moreover, market’ movement mirrors all significant events in the world. In other words, a person who wants to get success has to act quickly and even risky.

Secondly, making mistakes and risking are unavoidable parts of acquiring new knowledge. In fact, if we take a closer look at this idea, we will inevitably notice that our knowledge about the world and ability to control it are quite limited and the very moment when a person reaches his limits, the one has a choice to dare and take novel experience, to go beyond known or to retract and stick to a familiar reality. A human being will always face the difficult, challenging choice and all successful pundits, businesspersons have taken the risk; through making mistakes they got a valuable experience which cannot be acquired from textbooks and an attempt to make sure that an expected result will be reached is an unachievable dream. Thus a person who needs to unearth, to earn new knowledge and expertise has to take risks.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person who supports to state that the idea that taking everything slowly and making sure all variable are under control is a decent idea. Chiefly, the person may aver that the cost of a making a mistake and acting recklessly may be too grave. However, I still affirm that today's world requires from us to take risky actions and sometimes commit mistakes. Of course, in some particular cases, when we have, for instance, negotiations between two fighting countries, the attempt to control and desire not to take reckless actions is understandable but at the same time even in such challenging circumstances we still cannot control all variables there is always a possibility for mistakes. Thus we still have to try and suffer consequences.

To wrap up, I strongly support the idea that nowadays world with its steadily increasing pace requires from us to be brave and if necessary to take risky actions. This is only way to be successful and learn something new in the contemporary world.