There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a widespread belief that there is no real necessity to make serious efforts to preserve endangered species, in particular at a great cost in money and jobs. This stance is based on our selfish desire to preserve our life-style and mistaken felling of our superiority over the nature, at the same time, as far as I am concerned, those efforts should be made due to two reasons which will be discussed in details below.

First of all, we live in the world which is obsessed with productivity and economic growth. The reason of such obsession is a direct connection between our level of life with the economy and productivity, in order to maintain our consumption we need to reassure steady economic growth, regular and stable money flow into economy and low rate of unemployment. In other words, when we are asked to safe the nature by any cost, we are asked to abstain from our everyday conveniences, luxuries and habits. So why should we give up luxuries and conveniences of contemporary world in order to preserve some endangered species?

The first reason is a pragmatic one. Each animal and plant species is a part of planet's ecosystem. The system may adjust itself when one or several particles of it have been lost but it seems that the system has its limitations and once when a next species would have become extinct, the planet ecosystem may become unstable or malfunctioning. For instance, plankton is tiny animals which live in the oceans, it has produced more than 40 per cent of the world's oxygen, however, today our activity has warmed the oceans waters and as a result, the population of those tiny animals has decrease dramatically. In case, the plankton has become extinct, and today we have a real treat of it, we may face a serious danger of our existence. Consequently, from this viewpoint it seems to be reasonable to sacrifice our luxuries, to ensure our existence.

The second reason is ethical. We are responsible for the future of our progeny and it is our duty to preserve for next generations beauty of the nature. Today more than 1500 of amphibians are listed as endangered, tigers, lions, polar bears are endangered species as well. In fact, our children may not be able to see alive these animals and perhaps many other species which may extinct in the near future. In other words, we should preserve the diversity and beauty of the nature for our future generations, we ought not to deprive them from the possibility to see tiger, giraffe and polar bear and many others wonderful and amazing creatures. Once a species has become extinct, we have an indispensable lost which cannot be replaced.

In conclusion, despite the fact that many of us see little reason to make extraordinary efforts in order to save endangered animals and plants species, and some understandable reasons support this stance, we have to make those efforts to preserve the species because our own existence is connected with the nature and due to our liability to future generations to give them opportunity to be able to see beauty and diversity of the nature.