Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some aver that sport develops in our progeny a desire to compete. At the same time, there are those who state that our offspring are taught how to be team players. Below both prospects will be discussed in details and author’s opinion will be stated.

To begin with, for many people sport is embodiment of competition. In fact, almost all sports events are aimed to figure out who is the fastest, the strongest or the best at a particular activity. To illustrate, success of any country that takes part in Olympic Games is measured by a number of trophies and medals its athletes have won. Consequently, youngsters who do sports are faced with a necessity to rival with each other.

However, there is an alternative point of view that those children who participate to athletic activities learn how to work in a team. Of course, there are some games such as football and baseball that are played by teams and those young people who play them are perhaps have to learn how to work together. Moreover, taking closer look at any sport would reveal that there is always a place for some team work. For instance, even such a highly individualistic activity as running assumes that the athletes exercise with other sportsmen and work with a coach. Thus, any sports person acquires knows how to be a team player.

Finally, it seems that any sport, by default, requires from the participants have a desire to compete and a skill of working in a team. Of course, different games demand a distinct proportion of both elements. For instance, box requires from the fighters to be more competitive while playing basketball call in for more team effort and less rivalry with each other.