TPO 23 :

In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

In today’s modern era, reliability is one of the outstanding concern in human's life. It may influence time, cost and other factors in every work. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this concept is what is the best balance in the speed-dependability tradeoff. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that people should make sure that all of their decisions are correct, then progress gradually, while others look at this through a different lens. As I am concerned it is better to do works promptly because nowadays not only have works competition increased, but also the whole world is changing faster. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first reason that should be mentioned is the increase in population intensify competition in jobs. The more population, the more candidate for each job or work. In this condition, if one does not work quickly, rivals could defeat him. For example, in the imaginary situation that two company are trying to introduce a new product to market. One of them work precisely and double check every steps to become sure about the accuracy of every decision. In contrary, other company progress quickly and produce that production as soon as possible, starts to sell it and gain market share. At this moment, the first company must compete with a well-known opponent with a lot of customers. Consequently, the chance of triumph reduces by expanding the time of each work or project.

A further more subtle point is these days, because of rapid growth in technology and ease of communication, the world alters more swiftly. So both the taste and preference of people change rapidly. Everyone can perceive this phenomenon by looking at clothes fashion. In the ancient world, a customary cloth has used for hundreds of years, but these days after a few years people prefer neither the color nor the model of old products. For this reason, if a work has been done gradually, it may have been expired at the moment. So it is better for each project to done with few problems, instead of done when it is not interesting for customers anymore.

To summarize, because of intensified competition and rapidly changing the interests of humans, people should do their works as soon as possible, besides squandering time for increased reliability. Who prefers to work slowly and lose his job?