TPO 22:

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

These days, an appropriate job can influence the majority of human’s life aspects. So people plan and effort hard to obtain a suitable job. A controversial question which is often raised regarding planning to achieve a good job is what is the best balance between learning scientific material and relation skills. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that students should study as hard as they can instead of trying to enhance their social skills, while others look at this concept through a different lens. As I am concerned, ability to communicate with others is more vital than scientific materials because not only the world has been changing and consequently the importance of relationship networking increasing, but also connection skills are a crucial requirement for promotion. In addition technology progress is confining job opportunities.

The first reason that should be mentioned is nowadays, the network of relationships become a critical parameter in the job selection process. The population and the job competition has been increasing. The more population, the more candidate for each vacant opportunity. In consequence, although one study hard and learn a variety of knowledge very well, he needs his communication for finding an appropriate job. Furthermore, in many jobs, individual-work has given place to team-work. So everyone must relate to others for doing his job because it is no matter that every single employee do his job well or not, but the efficiency of the whole team will evaluate.

The further more subtle point is in today world, communication is a critical requirement for promotion. Every employee is trying to elevate and become a manager and becoming a manager means a broad relationship with other people. Every level that one elevate causes an increase in the number of the related employee. Therefore employers do not expect from a low-level employee to has high-level communication skills, in the other hand, they have this expectation from a manager. So if the new manager has not this skill and cannot relate with others appropriately, he cannot last a long time in managerial position. Obviously, one can choose either become an ordinary employee in the best case scenario or achieving communication skills.

The last but not least reason is these days, it goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where the technology growing so fast that it could hardly be believed, robots have been occupying many jobs. There is not enough that one just studies hard and learn science with no knowledge about communication and become just an operator because computers and robots with the assistance of the internet can do this faster than humans. So if people want a safe job in the future, they should try to do what automatons cannot do.

To summarize, as regards increasing importance of relationship networks, the vitality of communication techniques for promotion and development of robots and computers, it is obvious that learning methods of communicate with other people are more essential than scientific knowledge. It seems that those trends are continuing. So in this situation, who can tell focus on study hard in school is enough?