TPO 24 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part time job Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, teenagers are mostly focusing on their school lessons and they spend a huge part of the day in school or school-related subjects such as doing homework, working on assignments, etc. After the invention of the Internet and its expansions, teenagers often tend to spend their time after school on it and they may not gain much from this specific time. A controversial debate that is often raised regarding this topic is whether teenagers should take a part-time job together with their education and academic life. Clearly, this has several advantages and disadvantages. Some people are inclined towards the idea that having a part-time job is beneficial. While others look at this from a different perspective. If I were forced to choose, I would prefer that it would be better for them to experience a part-time job during their education for several reasons, and I will elaborate on these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin substantiating my standpoint, having a part-time job in the early stages of life will help students get new experiences and skills. It will prepare them for their upcoming life and future jobs, and they will be more inclined to accept big challenges in their work. I have to admit that my opinion is profoundly influenced by my personal experience. You see, when I was studying maths at high school, I was working in a computer hardware-fixing shop after school. At first, I was a bit nervous and could not do much but as time passed, I learned from the shop owner and I started doing simple tasks. After about two months, I was confident in my skills in finding what the problem is with the hardware, and sometimes I could solve the problem by myself. Today I am working on Intel which is the pioneer company in computer hardware production and experience. I learned much from my part-time job during my young ages, and it definitely helped me through this. For this reason, experiencing a part-time job can become useful in the future.

Another reason which is worth being discussed is that working on a part-time job in real life will hone one's social skills. Through interaction with more people with various characteristics, a teenager can practice living in adult life. In fact, social and communication skills are one of the key features of a person because we are living in a group. Moreover, people are usually dependent on each other so communicating properly is a necessity in today's life. Drawing from one of my friend's experience, he was a part-time librarian in the central library in our city for two years. He was a shy and introverted person. His job was to help people find the books they are looking for. Through this job, he learned how to interact with different people and he honed his social skills. Today, he is working at the national library, the most well-known library in our country, and he is successful in his job. It's certainly clear why having a part-time job as a teenager will help him/her gain social skills.

In light of the reasons above, I genuinely believe that experiencing a part-time job, even for a few months, can help a teenager prepare better for the future and improve his communication skills.