TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Should young people be given enough time to help their communities? Some contend that the children should contribute to help their communities to help them to fell devotion to their societies, and gain more experience. From my personal experience, I am a normal high school student who is smothered by the strict education system and have no time to spend on other things. Therefore, I would like to suggest that young people nowadays should not be given enough time to help their communities. To further explain my point of view, I will elaborate on my point in more details.

First of all, the major responsibility of the young is to keep studying hard and enhance their grade as much as possible. They are taught to do so and the pressure from school and parents also force them to do so. Expectations from school and parents make them become more and more indifferent to community responsibilities. Furthermore, children simply have no time to focus on their communities because of their uncountable homework. Take me as an example. After finishing an eleven-hour school time and burying me into the homework and assignment, the last thing I can afford is moving to the bedroom. So when it comes to any call from the community office to engage inhabitants to take part in community service, I have always been escaping. This means too little time left for the young children may cause their isolation from social responsibilities. Therefore, it is impossible for the young squeeze time into doing community activities even though they are given enough time.

Secondly, nowadays in the modern metropolis, there are too ample entertainments distracting young children. Electronic devices such as TV, cell phone, and computers have got most teenagers addicted because the intriguing plots and extravagant scenes make them completely enthralled. Therefore even for those teenagers who have fewer requirements to complete, helping their communities won't be a priority on a list. For instance, my little brother is one of the children who have a special affection for television. He spends most of his spare time watching the cartoon and doesn't even pay attention to my mother. What's more, I remember that merely last week did his teacher call my mother to attend a parent-teacher meeting which was finally presented to me because of my mother's busy business. During the meeting his teacher suggested me to curb my brother from television watching, since he could not even hand on his homework, not to say community services.

Third, it seems that volunteer work in my community is not appreciated. For example, my friends volunteered to help clean a local park. They worked hard all afternoon long. However, when they finished, no one there even said “thank you” to them. In the following week, the park was dirty again. That really disappointed and frustrated my friends very much. Since then, none of them has shown any interest in doing volunteer work again. They do not consider it as a good use of their time. When no one seems appreciated what youths do volunteer work for their community, they will stop give time to help the community.

In sum, after considering the numerous homework of school and the attraction of electronic devices, I would like to suggest that young people nowadays do not give enough time to help with their community services. I believe if the school and family press put less pressure on young people and make sure they don't get themselves tempted by distractions, there would be a more harmonious society waiting for us in the near future.