TPO 26:

Agree/Disagree:It's better for children choose jobs that are similar to their parent' jobs than to choose job that are very different from their parents' jobs.

Choosing a job or career is one of the most difficult decisions that young people have to make at one point in their life. Some people prefer to have the same job as their parents. Other people decide to follow their own passion or calling. In my view, I disagree with the opinion that it's better for children to choose a job that's similar to their parents' job. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, children might not have the same natural talents as their parents, which would make them struggle to achieve equal success if they opt for the same field of their parents. Some positions require intrinsic abilities of communication, for instance. Other posts, on the other hand, demand strong math skills. Since children's personal skills are not the same as their parents', it's not always practical for kids to follow the same path that their parents took. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. After finishing high school, I was trying to make up my mind on what college should I join. Both my parents were working in healthcare. Consequently, they advised me to apply for a college that would prepare me to practice in the medical field. Although I had passion for engineering and I wanted to study computer science, my parents pushed me to enroll in a pharmacy college. Unfortunately, I did not have the skills that they had to be accomplished in such a career. As a consequence, after graduation, I found it hard to find a job and I wished I had never listened to my parents' recommendations.

Secondly, picking jobs that is aligned with one's interest would be more fulfilling and rewarding. Some Youngsters are not intrigued by their parents' professions and they hope to do something else that would allow them to fully utilize their capabilities. Hence, it's better for children to determine their future career through trial and error until they find their real passion. For example, I had to complete a degree in software development after I graduated from pharmacy school as I imagined myself more satisfied with a career in programming.

Admittedly, landing on a job similar to parents' jobs is attractive sometimes since children would be able to benefit either from their parents' connections, experience or even resources. Nevertheless, children could give up in the middle of the road because they would not feel completely pleased just by doing the same thing that their parents did.

To sum up, I oppose the idea that young people should assume that their parents' occupation would be the best choice for them as they could lack their parents' innate abilities. In addition, choosing a profession according to their own traits and capacities would help them be more successful.