TPO-27 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying.Use specific reasons and ex

A bird in the hand is worth more than two in the bush. As this adage goes, it is better to hold onto an opportunity that is certain than having one that is worth more but is not predictable. I agree that if people have the opportunity of getting a secured job, they should take right away rather than wait for a more satisfying job.

To begin with, the rate of unemployment is escalating as people roam around the street searching for jobs. There are tons of graduates from various colleges and universities every year and as a result job opportunity becomes a challenging situation. My own experience is a compelling example of this. In my state, Lagos, there are more than five Pharmacy schools whose graduates fill the available job positions easily and thus making job hunting extremely difficult and highly competitive. When I wanted to start my internship training program in a hospital setting, it was improbable to find any opening nearby. I had to travel for more than 40 miles away from home. At that moment, it was not my ideal job but I did not want to forgo that chance because I was not sure of obtaining a more satisfying job.

Secondly, the potential risk of losing a secured job is less compared to a job that is satisfactory. Some well-established companies and organizations can offer employment benefits that can guarantee the employees the opportunity to be in the organization without being terminated unexpectedly. For instance, my elder brother was offered a job with the Federal Government of Nigeria as a civil servant and coincidentally he got an offer from a small refinery firm. He decided to choose the Federal government job because of its better retirement plans, job security and long-term benefits. The government provided a legal organization that ensures that individuals are not eliminated easily. This was in contrast to the small private firm which was more of a dream job to have but has limited advantages.

In conclusion, I believe that it is better for people to take the opportunity of a secured job which they have in hand than wait for an unforeseen satisfying job because getting a job is highly competitive and challenging.