TPO 28 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different arguments on how much time parents spend on educating their sons and daughters . In my opinion, I give my vote to the statement that parents in modern society pay more attention to the education of their children. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the academic requirements are now more demanding than they were in the past. An extensive amount of knowledge of higher levels have been passed to lower classes. As a result, children encounter a lot of difficulty to gain understanding of the subjects and they have to ask for support from their parents. This in turn requires adults spend more time with their kids. My son is a compelling example. Despite of being an elementary pupil, he has to learn a lot of complex matters from higher levels. Therefore, my wife and I must spend many hours to help him keep pace with the class.

Secondly, modern families have better financial conditions than they were few decades ago. Consequently, fathers and mothers are able to focus more time and energy on their kids´ education and future. People now dig deep into their pocket to send their children to good schools and attend extra classes such as sport, piano, drawing with a hope that their kids will be a perfect citizen in the future. My own experience exemplifies this idea. When I was small, my parents did not earn enough to pay for all of my academic needs. However, my wife and I have handed over a ton of cash so that my son can learn necessary subjects.

Last but not least, there is more and more competition between students at school. Teenagers compete with their peers to get on top of the list so that they can grip attention of big companies. As a result, parents have to involve deeply in their education to help them excel at the race. For example, there are many researches showing that Singaporean students have to spend up to twelve hours a day at school and extra classes so that they can pass the exams with flying colors.

In conclusion, my view is that adults today spend more time with their kids to help them study. This is because the higher demand of modern education, competition among students and better financial status of parents.