TPO 28 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Take attention to children's education is very important part of our lives because their education can have essential effects on their future. Some people think that parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past; others disagree. In my view it is true that today parents take more attention to their children's education in comparison with the past.

First, I think that in the past many parents have a lot of children, so they did not have enough time to spend on each children. Moreover, they were so distracted with their hard works that they often forgot their children's education. For example, my grandmother told me that when she was in elementary school, her parents did not know which class she was, and they do not take attention to her grades, and they did not talk to her teachers even for one time. She said that she had 7 brothers and sisters, and his parents were worried about their food and cloths, they did not care about anything else because they did not have time for it. As you can see in the past, parents did not involve in children's education in comparison with today.

Second, Nowadays many people have one or two children, so they have a lot of time to spend on them. With this extra time parents can get involved in their children's education more. For example, I remember when I was in elementary school my parents took a lot of attention about my education. My mother went to my school every two weeks and talked with my teachers about my grades. She bought me a lot of extra books to study better and get better grades, moreover she tried to ask me a lot of questions before my exams to see if I was ready or not . She thought that she can affect my future by doing those works. Not only my parents did such things, my friend's parents did them too. So today parents are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past.

In sum, though some may disagree, I think parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past, not only because parents in the past had a lot of children and had a lot of hard works to do,and did not have enough time to spend on their children's education but also new parents have a lot of extra time to spend on their children because they have few children, and they think they can be effective in their children's lives.