TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What an important aspect of human beings' lives which plays a prominent role in their prosperities, to a great extent, is education. Although there is a consequence on its indisputable role, the most efficient method of educating students is still a moot point. Germane to this fact, a question which is the matter of debate, a controversial one, is whehter parents today are more involved in their children's education than were in the past. Whereas some poeple may be on the belief that that they are a major factor in education of their children, I am personally of the conviction that their responsibilities are dwindled for two conspicuous reasons.

One compelling reason giving in favor of this thesis is that schools have different policies from the past. To elucidate more on this issue, the government has planned new changes in schools' tasks and scedules. These changes pave the way for schools to play a more important role in the students' education. For instance, last wee, I read in the news paper that the governments has implemented policy changes in the plans of schools. These changes consist class times, number of teachers, and so forth. According to the new memos, schools are now open from 7AM to 5PM, which is two hours more than the past. Consequently, students will spend more time in schools, and schools, in turn, will have more effect on their education. As you can see, the governmet's plicies have decreased the role of parents in their children's education.

Another reason which cannot go unnoticed is that the increase in the numbers of different subjects taught in schools, decreases the efficiency of parents helps. To shed some light on this premise, it is worth pointing out that many different topics, nowadays, are taught in schools. Nevertheless, parents are not expertise in all of them, and they cannot, hence, be beneficial to their children in learning the topics. For example, my son is ten years old, and he told me that he has many divergent classes in school, i.e. mathematics, literature, biology, etc. Furthermore, he has a class for learning the piano. One cannot turn a blind eye on the fact that nobody has a good knowledge on all of these areas. Thus I am not able to assist him in learning them. This experience taught me that since there are myriad lessons that children learn in schools, parents are not capable of assisting them with them.

By way of conclusion, I am personally one of the proponents who cites a clear bias in favor of the thesis that parents are no more involved in their children's education as much as they were in the past. To recapitulate the reasons, not only implemented policy changes hinder them in this way, but also their lack on knowledge in all the covered topics in schools is a destrictive factor.