TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What an important aspect of human beings' lives which plays a prominent role in their prosperities, to a great extent, is education. Although there is a consequence on its indisputable role, the most effective method of improving the quality of education is still a moot point. Germane to this fact, a question which is the matter of debate, a controversial one, is whether high salaries for university professors has a positive effect on the quality of education. Although some people may be on the belief that it is not beneficial, I am personally of the conviction that spending more money on salaries for university professor is indispensable for improving the quality of education for two conspicuous reasons.

One compelling reason giving in favor of this thesis is that it assists professors in focusing on their jobs and teaching students better. To elucidate more this issue, if professors earn a high wage, they can have a better life. Therefore, there will be no problem to occupy their minds, and they will concentrate on providing complete lectures for their classes. For example, one of my friends is studying in Karaj Computer Science. Last week, he told me that his university has a limited budget, and it does not pay the professors a lot of money. Because his professors do not make a huge amount of money, they have to work in other places to compensate this lack of money, and they have, consequently, less time to prepare their lectures for the classes. Hence, their lectures are poor, and students are discontented with those. As you can see, if universities pay the professors enough money, they can perform their responsibilities better.

Another reason which cannot go unnoticed is that professors will help universities in improving the classes. To shed some light on this premise, it is worth pointing out that because the professors can make a great deal of money, they are more likely to help universities in having well equipped classes. A strong incentive for doing this is that they will have requirements for good teaching. For instance, when I was in Tehran studying Electrical Engineering, my linear control professor taught us about controlling of air conditioners. There was an air conditioner in our class connected to a computer for the sake of control. The professor used the computer and showed us how we can employ the theory and control the air conditioner. It really cleared things up. Later, I realized that the professor had bought the equipment for the class to help students in understanding the topic better. This experience taught me that if universities pay the professors more, they will help the universities also in obtaining required things for a good education.

By way of conclusion, I am personally one of the proponents who cites a clear bias in favor of the thesis that universities can improve the quality of education by spending more money to university professors. To recapitulate the reasons, not only will result in teaching students better, but also universities will have well equipped classes. I recommend that all universities pay as much as possible the professors for the job they do.