TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although a certain prediction cannot be made, I firmly believe that parents today are less involved in their children's education compared to the past. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that with today's growing economy, people have little time to spend with their children. In fact, parents should work most hours of a day to be able to make money and provide good facilities for their children; the living costs have dramatically increased during recent decades, and it forces parents to work more. To demonstrate most of the scientist all over the world contend that parents spend less time with their children today in comparison to the past. So, they established an experimental program worldwide to estimate the average amount of time which parents spend with their children today. The results are surprising: over 95 percent of parents spend less than 20 minutes with their children. As the results of this experimental program shows, 20 minutes is less than the time that is needed for having a warm conversation with their children, let alone involving in their education.

In approaching this issue, apart from the fact mentioned above, one should regard another subtle point meticulously that nowadays, children's teaching material is very different with the past, and parents may not understand the material, let alone helping their children with the material. Take a personal experience as an example; I have an uncle which have difficulty understanding her children book. Although her children are in elementary school, she cannot understand the material. So, it is not surprising that she is not able to help their children in this issue. The noteworthy refreshingly intelligible statistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country shows that the majority of parents cannot understand their children's educational books. As a result they cannot involve in their formal instruction even if they have time to do so.

Taking all aforementioned arguments into account lead us to the conclusion that parents today less involve in their children's education. They not only have no time to spend with their children, but also have difficulty in understanding children’s educational material.