TPO 29 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement To improve the quality of education universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors

For hundreds of years, people have never stopped debating about the effect of salaries on the quality of works. The salaries of university professors are a crucial and critical subject of our life since it has a profound impact on our future. Regarding this issue, some people believe that professor's salary does not have any effect on the quality of education since they love to work there and the salary is not important for them, while some others disagree. From my point of view, I think the second idea carries more weight and I will enlarge on what I mean in this essay.

Above all, as an old proverb says: "If you want to get tenfold quality of workers, pay them a little more" To be more exact, more money as salary often encourage people to work with more attention which lead to improvement of the quality. Take my supervisor in MS grade, for example. Although he did not try to involve in my project because he was not enthusiastic to help me, as his salary was really low. But when the university decided to pay him more money, he became so active and helped me in any part of my project.

The other reason which deserves some words here is that some professors have to work out of the university to make ends meet. As a result, they are sick to death of working and cannot focus on their university duties. One of my BS university professors is a compelling example of that. He had to work with one company after his university's hours till midnight. Therefore, he was often tired in his first class of the day.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that if universities spend more money on salaries for university professors, they can help the project of their students financially. However, it is not a common thing, some professor do this in some specific project. For instance, my friend had a road project in his MS grade, which needed a considerable amount of money. His supervisor helped him in paying for some bills since he got the best salary in our university.

To sum up, given the fact that more salary often encourages professors to focus on their work and they should not work out of the university, if university pay them more money. In addition, professors can help students financially when they are paid more money. I personally presume that more salary can result in better quality.