TPO-31- Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

Happiness and satisfaction are abstract philosophies. Each of us has our own ideas about them. Some people think that having amount of money, or realizing their tremendous dreams can make them jubilant. However, some people satisfy with what they have in present. In my opinion, I totally disagree with the statement that our lives now are not joyful as the life of people in the past because we have to face the rapidly changes of the world. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, if people based on the material to consider about the happiness, the world today can probably provide them whatever they want. In other words, physical conditions can help to bring people convenience. Long time ago, people did not have many machines as we have today. Obviously, it is understandable since the advanced technologies were not invented yet. Therefore, people had to work hard to have enough food to eat and they must live in the caves as well. As a result, they had to struggle to survive. However, today, we live in our houses with many kind of machines, which can support people tremendously. People do not need to worry about the weather. What they need to do is just to open the air condition and regular it to fit the heat that makes them feel comfortable. Moreover, if people love to travel, they only need to start the engine of their cars and drive wherever they would like to go. These things can possibly make people feel more enjoyable in their lives than people in the past.

Secondly, technologies can help people to find various ways to enjoy their lives. If people like to watch movies, there are a thousands of channels on the television and on the internet can provide them a profuse types of movies. If people like to play games to relax, there are also countless game shows on the internet as well. Meanwhile, in the past, there were no television and the internet .People could only talk together and because they had no means to get the information thus, the topics to talk with each other were too limited and boring. If compared life today to the life in the past apparently, one hundred percent of people claim that living in this time is more gratifying than ever before.

In conclusion, people have their own ideas about the happiness and satisfaction in life. In my view, for two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly believe that people today are happier and more satisfied with their lives in both physical and spiritual life than people in the past.