TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think young people nowadays have no influence on the society. It seems to be plausible at first glance because we can see many youngsters who do not pay attention to things happening around – they just care about themselves and how to have fun. However, I believe they, as an indispensable part of human beings, affect the future of society in various ways because they are energetic and innovative.

To begin with, known for their passion and enthusiasm, the young generation are occupying important positions in industry. Many companies are willing to provide young employees more positions and more opportunities to express their ideas and to make contribution. This is because hiring young people keeps a company to stay energetic and productive. By making progress in many crucial fields, such as business, IT and media, they determine the development of society in both subtle and direct ways. Take a technical company, Huawei, for example. It inclines to recruit young workers and often takes its staff’s efficiency into account when making big decisions, because its competitiveness depends on how quick it can put up with practical solutions to the clients’ problems. Meanwhile, thanks to the time and effort devoted by those young employees, Huawei has earned its dominance in communication and electronics market. Thus, increasing number of young people are actively involved in the process of social development.

Moreover, many innovations made by young people change the society dramatically. Young researchers, young businessman, young politicians, etc., all of them are raising new questions, new possibilities, and regarding old problems from a new angle to bring convenience to our lives. It is their creativity, curiosity combined with never-stopping pursuit of new things that changes the world. For example, Mark Zuckerberg was only in his twenties when he first came up with the idea to create a social network to connect the schoolmates of Harvard University. And now, as the leader of Facebook, he has totally changed the way of communication and thereby plays a significant role in the society. There are numerous youngsters with ground-breaking ideas just like Mr. Zuckerberg who are exerting their influence on the world. It can be told from a range of facts, such as more and more young faces attending important conferences to discuss critical economic and politic problems. Therefore, they are sure to take a part in

In conclusion, growing as the potential decision makers, young people are the future of the society. Although we respect veterans because of their experience and professionalism, it does not mean that the impact of young generation can be ignored. In fact, by using their energy and creative thoughts, they are exerting profound influence on our society as a whole.