TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, students have myriad of assignments to deal with, and there is a fervor debate whether the assignments should be done alone or in groups. Which method will provide students with optimal profits? To take a project together, in my opinion, is the more effective way for students because during the process, they can work at their best parts and get inspired from others’ ideas.

To begin with, no one can deny the fact that every individual has his own limitations and advantages in terms of skills and talents, and cooperation makes sure that everyone can make the most contribution to the work. When working together, each member in a team can be responsible for the part they are best at, making their work more effective. However, if a student handles a project by himself, he will spend a lot of time learning something he does not good at, which is a waste of time. For example, my e-commerce professor once asked us to do a team project to analyze one type of business administration methods in two weeks. It was considerable amount of work but thanks to our well-organized teamwork, we finished it on time with high quality. We divided the whole project into a few tasks, so that everyone could find his own field – be it collecting materials, writing the report or preparing the presentation.

Moreover, team working allows students to exchange their thoughts and learn from others’ different perspectives. Human beings are subjective and sometimes we can be trapped in our stereotypes. Thus, different points of view are necessary in order to raise new questions, new possibilities, and to regard old problems from a new angle. To solve a convoluted problem, what matters most is group members gathering together to talk about their thoughts on the work freely, during which many innovative solutions are likely to occur. For instance, two classmates and I did a project on developing an Internet camera managing system last year. At first, I insisted that we should design a website to present those features since I had such experience, but later we were stuck at how to transfer the video data. One member suggested us to build an application instead, and it turned out to work perfectly. To be frank, if it was not his advice, we might probably fail this assignment and receive a bad grade in the course.

In the final analysis, although working individually may save students some time on reaching an agreement so they can start doing research quick, team working actually boosts their working efficiency in a long term. Because of the division of work according to each member’s strengths as well as the exchange of distinctive opinions, doing projects in groups enable students to learn much more beyond themselves.