TPO44 independent

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, most parents have to work full time to earn a living and support their families, leaving their children alone at school or at home, or having a babysitter or someone else to take care of the children; the time that they can spend with their kids is extremely short and precious. Thus, some believe that busy parents should make use of that time to have fun with their children, while other holds that it is better to spend the time doing schoolwork together. Personally speaking, I think the former is more favorable because it can help both parents and their children to relax and foster the relationship between them.

To begin with, playing games or sports is a good way to loosen up and create sweet memories. As a working parent, one might work around or even above eight hours every day during which he needs to deal with endless tasks, varying from attending meetings to replying emails. This is the reason why they often feel exhausted when back to home and the relaxing atmosphere, some leisure time and activities, are all they want there. Instead of facing the laborious and complicated homework like creating an atom model and solving an algebraic equation, on which the teachers can offer better help, playing games or sports is more likely to motivate them patiently spend high-quality time with their kid. For a child, on the other hand, happy childhood memories are always the best for their mental as well as physical development. For example, I always remember my first outstate trip to Xinjiang with my mother when I was seven, which is also my first time to take a flight. Ten years have passed yet I could still recall the excitement when I took aboard the airplane and I also learned to behave properly in public areas like that.

Moreover, spending playful time foster a harmonious relationship between parents and their children. Light-hearted family activities, such as playing games or sports, watching TV programs or simply having a family dinner together, can create a refreshing feeling and make it easy for them to talk about their problems that are usually hard to say like failed tests, love affairs and bad bosses. Through the frank conversation and the exchange of ideas and advice, parents and their kids can further understand each other and think from each other's perspective. For instance, I used to consider my parents as outdated because they hate Hollywood movies while I like them, and I would rather go to the cinema with my friends or even by myself to watch those latest released movies. Earlier this year, however, my parents and I watched the movie Jurassic World together and they appreciated how impressive the graphic effects are. It was then that I start to change my stereotype that they were too old-fashioned to enjoy such movies and to have fun with them more frequently.

In the final analysis, although parents can help their children with study and know about their academic performance by doing schoolwork together, they may be incompetent to provide professional instruction on some subjects and may even give misguidance in some difficult problems. Therefore, I believe parents who are busy with work should better use the valuable spare time to have fun with their kids because it can be a great relief and it is beneficial to develop an amicable parent-child relationship.