TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, there are many way that allow to children learn class materials as well as class lectures effectively. This brings up a controversial question regarding to working in a group. Do children learn better when they are in a group or not? In my perspective, I agree with the stance that students learn effectively in a group. The reasons behind this viewpoint are discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first thing that immediately comes to mind is that students learn new things when working in a group. In fact, each members in a group have different skills, which they learn them from universities and professional experience. When these different skillful people tend to work in a assigned project, they exchange data from one another. For instance, consider a project that is related to Information Technology. Each member in a group has specific knowledge, one is familiar about computer, other has information regarding to the smart cell phone or even someone' knowledge is about Internet Network. People extend their knowledge from their fellow members concerning with computer, mobile phone and so forth. By contrast, it is unlikely that people learn aforementioned information when they work alone. As a consequent, students who gather in a group exchange their knowledge with other members in a group, which will, in turn, lead on effective learning.

The second and important reason that support my standpoint is that children entail in discussion and understand topic of the project well. Indeed, members have particular responsibility and every person should collect data from various source in order to achieve to goal of project. After finding such information from source, they arrange meeting for the sake of explaining several possible solutions for solving problems in the project. Group members discuss their fellow members’ ideas and assess the pros and cons of them. As a result this, they will involve in a different aspects of their project' topic and comprehend not only the subject, but also the aims of the project well. So, eventually children will develop intellectual ability to execute group work. Additionally, when one of members want to distract others from projects subject for instance by telling unrelated things, members will force him or her to focus on the project. Therefore, the assigned project will be well-understood and members engage more on the topic of project, which will result in accomplishing the purpose of project.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that teachers should allow students to perform work projects in a group, because students learn new knowledge and comprehend the topic of project well.