TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

In today world, working as groups counts as a mean to achieve desired goals more effectively. Although most of people believe that the teachers could enhance learning of the students by assigning group work projects, but some people think that these assignment might not be effective as they seem. I personally concur with the latter, and through what follows, I elaborate on my most outstanding reasons for holding such opinion.

The most important reason is that in assignment that students have to work together, some of the students might not work as much of other members of group. In another words, by making students to work together on projects, teachers engender opportunity for some of the students to put over their duties to other participants of the group, who are concerned about outcome of the project. This condition is also referred as free riding. Free riding happens when some members of the group refuse to do their assignments, but they enjoy the achievement of the group as other member, who fulfill their tasks. For example, I remember there was a project, which our class in the university had to do it as groups. However most of groups members were chosen by the professor, but there were exceptions in some cases, students who wanted to be in their friends groups. One of these exceptions occurred in my group, and this student who joined our group because of his friend, roughly did nothing about the project, and his friend undertook his duties. This free rider did not even try to proceed his part, nor did not he learn how we fulfill the project.

Furthermore, working as a group on projects might create a situation in which the students projects would not be prepared on-time. Students have tendency to do their homework as well as assignments as late as possible. Also, students who obliged to work together might escalate this tendency in each other. However, some of the members of groups could be concerned about their tasks, but students with this tendency slow down the group process by putting over their tasks to the last minutes. This situation cannot provides a better learning for students, nor do it help students in preparing good results for their assignment.

In summary, with all these taken into account, students do not necessarily learn effectively by working together on their projects, due to free riding condition and having tendency to putting over duties in students. It is suggested that teachers could divide tasks between members of groups or set more than one due time for projects to address aforementioned problems.