TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, using technological tools such as cellphones, laptops and smart gadgets are become more popular among students and youths. So, as every new phenomenon, these tools has their own advantages and disadvantages. In the case of education, some people believe that students are distracted by such gadgets while others claim that these tools are enable students to broaden their knowledge by accessing to valuable resources of sciences. Personally, my perspective is closer to supporter of these gadgets and social media.

In the first place, technology enable students to access a wide variety of websites and channels in social media in order to aware about the latest events happening in the world. Students usually use search engines such as Google to find extra materials related to their courses. For instance, some of my students solved their math problems with novel methods which were unfamiliar to me. When I asked them where you find these methods, they answered that they find it from some scientific websites. So, if these students were in the past, they definitely had followed the routine method that described by their book and they did not spend time on internet and tried to find a different solution, like a real researcher.

In the second place, by playing games in cell phones, students are enable to learn and get information about their courses. This advantage, which is called Gamification, is a very popular and effective method of learning and educating among children and even adults. For example, students can install some applications like Doulingo on their cell phone and start to learn different languages (e.g. French). While they are playing, they review and apply what they've learned about the vocabularies, phrases and conversations in a real life setting. Hence, new technologies provide us many new ways to improve our educational system's performance.

Finally, students can use materials of online tutors as well as school teachers in order to have better understanding about the courses. We all know that although everything is written in books, but understanding concepts isn't a thing that simply done by just reading, otherwise, we need some people to explain them for us. Students can go online and register in some online classes like Coursera and watch to their videos which taught by very famous teachers. So, they can fix their problems and cover weak points by online classes.

In conclusion, I think that the ways of using these tools are more important than just emphasizing on their disadvantages. We should consider that everything have a dark side too and these gadgets can act like a double-edge sword which can make our children prosper or miserable.