TPO 36 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a doubt, it is very difficult to choose where the government will use their funds for good education of citizens. Some people believe that it is better that the government allocate their budget on young kids education than funding college universities. In my humble opinion, I believe that to be a successful country, government must use their money on universities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, building a strong nations begins with good quality of education. Everyone in the community would benefit if all of its citizen has learned a college degree. Creating many graduates will help the economy acquire more income and generate funds. Thus, working citizens help the government become more stable and developed country whereas if the funds are allocated to young children they can study for their elementary years but cannot afford to go to college. So I think it is more useful for the funds to go with university. For instance, our mayor build three city college within my hometown and it helped the youth to finished their college degree. Today, college education is very expensive and not all Filipinos can afford to pay for their tuition fee, so in this way many students will get a chance to finish their studies and can secure a good career. Also, those students who were scholars from the government are required to work with the government for three years that way they can lend their services to the community and help the country to grow as a nation.

Secondly, employment rate is very important in a country. This is the measure of how the government can compete with other countries. If their employment rate is low then they cannot encourage investors to build business and establishment in the country. In other words, college education is vital in every country. For example, lets say the government does not fund the college or university then they will not have future CEO or president of a company. College education is the key to the betterment of the economy of one's country because they will be future of the society. My cousin Mark, after graduation work in a big company in Makati. He is a very brilliant and talented sales agent and has many ideas how to gain profit with their company. After 5 years he becomes promoted and helped their company be on top of business in the Philippines.

To summarize, I believe it is more beneficial that funding should go to college institutions rather than the education of young children. This is because college graduates help the government gain more profit through high employment rates. Also brilliant and talent people always have a good education.