TPO 36 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on univers

Quality of education plays a vital role in the country's own development. It is very essential for the government to spend the nation's treasure in the most efficient way. Some argue that the government should spend money on the education of young children. While others hold the opposite idea that adult's education is more important for better growth of the country so, money should be spent on the development of the universities. As from my perspective, the latter view carries more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

Primarily, it is crystal clear that effective and qualified education in the university requires high-tech equipment and facilities compared to the high schools. Undoubtedly, without investing enough money in higher education, it is not possible to achieve the desired growth of the country. For instance, the government in China has invested 30% of nation's money in the development of the universities. Students in China, have access to high-tech laboratories and modern equipment in order to carry out the research projects. Consequently, China has become one of the largest countries in term of technological growth and it also helped them to earn prestige in the whole world. Also, recently the companies from all over the world invested their large amount of money in the Chinese market because of their highly developed technology.

Furthermore, students who belong from the poor economic condition, have rights to pursue their education till high school without paying school fees. But some intelligent students cannot pursue their higher education in universities because they cannot afford the university’s fees. The government can help them by providing a subsidized loan, and they can pursue higher education by paying minimum fees. My own country is a compelling example of this. The government of my county has made some projects from which poor economic students can be able to pursue their higher education to fulfill their dreams. For example, Dr. Abdul Kalam who was belonged from a poor family however, he has completed his studies and become one of the famous scientists in the world. Thus, the government has the power to help the students, so in the future, they can also contribute back to the country the same as Dr. Kalam did himself.

On the other side, the school does not require an extra investment of money in order to educate children. Young children are required to study rudimentary subjects such as sports, drawing, English, math and so on. For example, even though I and my brother have studied from simple low maintenance school, we completed our higher education in the field of medicine only because we had good instructors who taught us and guided us till we graduated. Currently, we both are working as a senior doctor in a private hospital. Hence, the government can hire a more professional instructor to elevate quality education in high schools instead of spending money to equip high schools.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is crucial for governments to prioritize financial support to higher education so that the long-term development of nations can be secured.