TPO 36 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People hold different attitudes towards how the government spends money on education. While some argues that more emphasis should be put on education of very young children ranging from five to ten years old, I give my vote to the opinion that students at the universities are the better target. There are two reasons supporting my view which will be explored in the below essay.

On the one hand, kindergarten and primary educations require moderate facilities like simple text books and basic experimental equipment. On the other hand, tertiary peers are in need of a huge number of elaborate facilities such as powerful computer systems, quality laboratories to facilitate the study. As the result, universities education requires states to dig deep into their pockets to guarantee the outcome of students and quality of researches. For example, Vietnamese government has spent billions of dollars every year on supporting engineering universities and colleges on carrying out researches and buying advance equipment otherwise students cannot keep pace with the development of modern technology. In contrast, Vietnamese primary education only requires moderate budget to maintain their facilities.

Secondly, university students form the main workforce of a nation. The very young pupils, in contrast, do not directly and immediately contribute to the prosperity and stability of a nation. As the result, more attention should be paid to train the former, helping them gain sufficient understanding and knowledge of engineering, technology, finance in order that graduate students are able to produce national products effectively and efficiently. Current statistics in my country has shown that people ranging from eighteen to twenty three years olds account for thirty five percent of national workforce. However, their background is not good enough to incorporate into to labor market. Thus, it is required to invest extensively into their education in order to maximize their potentials.

In conclusion, those abovementioned reasons put weight to my view that it is crucial for governments to prioritize financial support to higher education so that the long-term development of nations can be secured.