TPO 37: Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In comparison to the past, nowadays the number of daily tasks that every individual has to accomplish has substantially increased. Hence, without any specific plan and specifying the priorities one would not be able to manage his/her time and do their responsibilities very well. In this regard, some people hold the view that as people are busy doing different tasks, they do a few things well. From my own perspective, this statement is true. Among several reasons which support my viewpoint, I will delve into two conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

The most prominent issue that one should consider is the fact that every day we have limited time and in order to do a task perfectly, we have to allocate more time and energy for it. As we are surrounded by lots of different tasks it is impossible to accomplish all of them perfectly. As a personal experience, 4 years ago I used to be a perfectionist and I believed that all things that I have to do should be flawless. After a while, my situation was terrible as I had lots of incomplete tasks I really felt overwhelmed and depressed. Hence, I decided to change my approach. I realized that there are some limitations that I do not have any control over them, one of them is time. Therefore it is not necessary to do all the tasks perfectly. If it is acceptable, that is enough. You have not to exert more energy on it. Otherwise, you would not be able to handle all your responsibilities.

Furthermore, we should not ignore the impacts of new technologies on our performances.

Every technological advancement has its own pros and cons. One of the obvious negative points of current technologies is that they are one of the main causes of distraction and prevent lots of people to fully concentrate on their work and therefore lower their efficiency. For instance, nowadays there are lots of social media like Telegram, Instagram, Facebook, and etc which have specific attractions for its users and tempt the users to constantly check out their accounts every few minutes or hour. Hence, during the work, people are constantly distracted by any notification from these applications and interrupt their work to check their new notification. As people have to do lots of tasks these constant interruptions prevent them from doing their best and presenting a flawless work.

For short I think it is reasonable to conclude that these days people do a few things well as they have to do lots of tasks and have limited time and also there are lots of distractions which take their time and prevent them to work efficiently.