TPO 26: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs.

There is no doubt that choosing a proper job is one of the critical stages in every individual's life as it partly determines the future route of their life. In this regard, some people hold the view that choosing the parent's job is more beneficial for children rather than choosing a drastically different career. Although, I do believe that children should enough freedom to choose whatever they want, but I concede this statement due to some apparent reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently elaborate on my viewpoint.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that parents are a valuable treasure of experience in their own career and if their children follow their way, they will take advantage of their parent's knowledge and their expertise. As a personal example, both of my parents are retired teachers. They were highly adept and skilfull teachers. 5 years ago, my younger sister decided to be a teacher. When she started her career as a literature teacher, she was confused about how to deal with the students, which approach is better for instructing them, and how to manage the class and maintain the class discipline. On those days, my parents really assisted her by sharing their experiences and giving her a clear insight into teaching. Because of that, she easily adjusted herself to her job environment and maintained her confidence. In fact, my parents were a privilege for my sister.

Another equally important point coming to my mind is that when parents are renowned in their career it would be much easier for children to prove themselves at their workplace. The good reputation of parents paves the way for their children to become prosperous in their careers. For instance, as other colleagues in their workplace know their parents they can easily trust them and count on them and give them responsibility. However, when nobody knows you and your background, you should hardly strive to prove yourself and your capabilities to others. Furthermore, it provides an opportunity for you to make strong connection with other adept people that know your parents and can help you to enhance your knowledge at a fast pace.

To sum up, by contemplating the previous paragraphs, it is reasonable to draw the conclusion that it would be advantageous for children to follow their parents' job as they could take advantage of their parents experience and knowledge and also make strong connections with others and progress in their career rapidly.