TPO 39- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is clear that job or career is a pivotal and ineluctable part of our life. There is a lot of anxiety among people about the security of their jobs and they may concern about whether it would be successful in the future. Even though a lot of people believe that in the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future because of laking complex conditions in those days, I am in favor of those people who believe it is easier to recognize what kind of job would lead to a good future in current years. There are two important explanations which are detailed in the following paragraphs.

First of all, technology has advanced. With the advent of new technology, they can help us to determine what would happen to a career not only more readily than past but also with better estimation than past. As a point in case, two years ago, when my friend graduated from university. He supposed to make a decision about his job. I can remember that he had some options: as an employee at a computer company, a teacher at some high education institute, or pursuing his studies. He used the internet and made his decision just in one week. He was able to access a lot of information about this kind of careers which enabled him to make a good decision. It is obvious that making a decision without having sufficient knowledge about it not only is hard but also take a lot of time.

Second, in the past, there was not any kind of counselor, but now there is a lot in any field. In the past, people have a problem with not having some counselor to help them. They just could access a few people who even may do not have adequate knowledge about the issue. It is obvious that at that time people did not have an authoritative data about any subject. For example, about my grandfather, who lived in a village near a big city in Iran, when he was a child there was not any person who even was not able to read and write. Although the next city was big, there were about five literate people in the city. It goes without saying that in those situations it was very hard to estimate what would happen to any career.

To sum up, I do not agree with the idea that in the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Not only has technology advanced but also there was not a lot of educated people in the past. To identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future people would need to have a lot of information about that job.