TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Studying is the most important thing for learning skills and information. By studying we can maintain our knowledge and guarantee it for a long period of time. Some parents might find offering their children some money because of their good grades is a good and effective idea in order to encourage them to learn more things by studying more. However, others disagree and believe that ordering their children rewards because of their grades would make them lazy for doing their other stuff. In my view, encouraging children by offering the things that they like, such as money, is a wise choice because of two reasons.

First, children may not be aware of how their learning could affect their future. Children with lower ages, usually don't care about what is going to happen for them in the upcoming days or years. They mostly concern about how to entertain themselves for example by playing with other kids or watching TV. However, no one could blame them because of their way of thinking and their concepts about life because all normal humans have experienced this period of life and know about its circumstances. For instance, I remember when I was in elementary school, I wasn't interested in studying and would always seek for different ways to play and run away from doing the school's homework. My mother was really mad at me in that moment and didn't know what to do to convince me to study my courses. After a while, one of her friends suggested her to encourage me to study and pay more attention to school by offering some rewards instead of intimidating and warnings about the consequences that not doing them may have. With this trick, I was convinced to study more and consume more time for doing my school works. However, after entering the high school I was already aware of the importance of studying and I didn't need those rewards to persuade me to try more. That was because in that moment I knew that studying could help me to have a better chance to enter top universities and, after that, attending a job that is more suitable and offers a more salary. So this experience of mine completely shows how offering kids money (or other stuff) could convince them to study more.

Second, by doing this, children may develop other skills rather than just trying harder to study. For example, in those years that I got some money from my mother, I didn't spend them immediately after getting it, but instead, I usually had tried to accumulate some in order to be able to buy bigger things which needed more money. As you can clearly see, I developed a skill in myself which is now helping me in my adult life and now I can manage my expenses more easily.

Considering the two reasons I gave, offering children some rewards is a smart move that all parents could try to use to convince their children to learn more. Not only does it encourage them to try harder, but also it develops some other skills in them which it would be useful in their future.