TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Without a shadow of a doubt, friends play an important role in every individual's life. Some people believe, that the ability to have a few number of friends over a long period of time is more important for the ability to make many new friends but for a short period of time. Others, hold the view, that it is important to have a plethora of friends merely for short period of time. I am of the opinion, that having deep long period friendships can well outweigh having shallow short period friendship. I will attempt to address the most discernible reasons in the ensuing lines.

One imperative idea coming to mind at first is about a person's self-reliance. It is crystal clear that each person has an exclusively certain type of ability. Consequently, on the condition that a person face to a problem s/he could readily count on his or her close friends to get help from. Besides s/he assures that his or her friends give a hand on that problems. According to Dr. Hasan Zohoor, a prominent and highly respected psychologist at the University of Tehran, if a person had a few close friends which he could count on them, he would have had a powerful self-esteem and also it leads to the gratification of that person's ego. To illustrate my point, let me elaborate upon it by presenting an explanation. Consider a boy embarking on studying for a university exam which that course is extremely difficult. He has to hammer on that courses for a long time, however, he has not enough time and loses his self-esteem. In this circumstance, if he had a close friend which could rely on, he would get some help from his friend and learn the course faster. Thereby, he acquires his self-confidence again.

Acquiring more prosperity is the second interesting point which deserves some words here. It goes without saying that close friends could suggest a plethora of advice to a person regarding that person being prosperous in his accomplishments. Owing to the fact that, close friends are invariably conveyed every detail information about their knowledge in order to be more helpful. Furthermore, this situation emancipates a person from having stress of prosperity in his life. Thus, the deeper friendship one has, the more success he would achieve in his life.

In conclusion, it is for all the aforementioned reasons, I have come to believe, that having the ability to maintain friendships with a few number of people for a long period of time is more important owing to not only does it leads to a person acquires more self-reliance, but it contributes to that person being prosperous in his or her life.