TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

In today's hectic world we live in, in which correcting the other person's mistakes is considered extremely important toward people's prosperity, a person would not be off the point to assume that being frank with people plays a key role to that end. However, whether students should correct their teachers' mistakes in class in front of the other students or not, is a contentious issue in this regard. One popular opinion regarding this issue states that a student should wait until the class is over and the other persons are gone then talk to the teacher and correct his or her mistakes. I personally count myself among the proponents of this idea and attempt to bring the most discernible reasons in the ensuing lines.

One imperative idea coming to mind at first is about time-limitation in classes. It is crystal clear that, teachers have a certain time in class to teach students large amount of study-materials. Also, telling teachers' mistakes during classes might be time-consuming. Thus, students should merely tell their teachers' mistakes after the class when class is over owing to the fact that if students corrected the teacher's mistakes right away in class, the teacher would not teach all the lessons which he planned. To illustrate my point, let me elaborate upon it by presenting an example. Consider a mathematics teacher embarking on teaching many lessons in class and he has just one last session of semester to teach all those lessons due to the dearth of time. in this circumstance, if that teacher made a plethora of mistakes because of his hurry and students corrected all those mistakes, it would take a myriad of time. Consequently, the teacher could not teach all the lessons.

Teachers' self-reliance is the second point which deserves some words here. It goes without saying that, mentioning and correcting the teachers' mistakes in front of all the students might have adversely affected teacher's self-esteem and decrease their confidence. According to Dr. Hasan Zohoor, a prominent and highly respected psychologist at the University of Tehran, pointing out people's mistakes in public have detrimental effects on their self-confidence. This provides further legitimacy and support for the idea that students should not correct the teachers' wrongs in front of other students. Therefore, the more teachers' mistakes students told in class, the more decrease teachers' self-reliance would be.

To put it briefly, considering the reasons that I gave, although ignoring teachers' mistakes or correcting them in front of class sometimes are not bad ideas, it would definitely be futile because of the time-limitation for classes as well as it would decrease the teachers' self-esteem. All in all, it is highly suggested a survey be conducted in order to assess the general opinion of the teachers and other psychology experts regarding such an issue.