TPO 40: Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is generally believed that by studying well children open the doors to a successful future, and, therefore, parents should do all the necessary to provide that education to their kids. However, personally, I am prone to believe that paying money for good grades is not the right way to motivate kids learning properly. I hold this opinion since money is a wrong incentive for youngsters; and it will make kids think that they study only for receiving money.

To begin with, education is a process that gives not only knowledge and skills, but it also develops values in children. These values are the core elements of thoughts and behavior of any child since they determine the way kids think and what they do. In this sense it is definitely a wrong way to teach children that the only success in life is money. For example, when I was a kid and was doing well in the school my parents were taking me to special places like live performances, pizza restaurants, and so on, where we could spend time all together and have fun. By doing so they were stressing out that they love me and are proud for my successes at school, and, therefore, I grew up with the values, according to which, things like family and love are the most important ones in our lives. So, if we want to bring up our children with correct values, we should not teach them that the price of hardworking and studying well is the money.

Additionally, money may make children believe that their goal in the life is earning money. This approach will probably lead them to the idea that education is needed for only buying goods and services they want to. Meanwhile, children should be brought up with the belief that education is necessary for helping other people, making the world better, contributing to peace all over the world. For instance, kids in South Africa are taught by the UN experts in their schools that money is not the goal of the life; it is a means to help people. As to the education it is considered as a form of guaranteeing peace on the continent. Thus, children should never think that money is the aim of studying and doing well at school.

To sum up briefly, money is not the thing for what our children should study for. Its explanation is twofold: first, there are better incentives for learning well and, second, kids should realize that money is not a goal, it is a means.