TPO 40.

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

One of the most concerns of the parents is their children's education. They want the children to get succession in their courses with high grades. To do so, parents may try various ways to encourage children. Some people believe one way to stimulate children is to give them money for each high grade which is attained in the school. In my way of thinking it is not a good idea to offer them money for high marks because not only does it mislead them on the concept of the study, but also it becomes a routine behavior for them.

The first reason which should be stated here is that offering money will change the comprehend of study. Children should know that they study for themselves. People increase their knowledge to have a better life and a better understanding of the surrounding world. Also, it helps them to enhance their awareness of a particular object which will lead to their future career. However, offering money for a better study is not a good way because it makes them study for the received money. They will think that they study for their parents, and the money becomes the purpose of them. In this way, they lose the real goal of the study and may lose their motivations because a little money for good marks is not enough stimulation for a long time study.

The other reason which deserves some words here is that giving money will be a normal behavior for children. When parents give them money for high scores for a long time, it will be a routine for children, then it will lose its influence as a motivation. After a while, students will not be eager for getting the money which makes a decrease in their study marks. In addition, parents may confront financial problems, and cannot be able to afford the prize money. By then, the child will not study anymore Since they used to give money for the study.

To summarize, parents should not allocate money for high grades which are attained by their children in the school. It will change the concept and certain goal of study in the children's mind and will become a repetitive behavior after a long time which will lose its value as a stimulator.