TPO 41 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Personally, I believe that teachers had more prestige and honor in the society in the past than they were in present day. I feel this way for two reasons, which i will explore in the following essay.

First of all, learning resourses in the past were fewer than the resourses in present day. This fact represented that the knowledge of teachers was the scarce resouce and let teachers become pretty precious in that time.

My parents' experience is a compelling example of this. When they were young, goning to school was the only way for them to learn knowledge. Teachers at that time usually had lots of power to command student and punish them without accused by the parents of the students. Besides, teachers also earned much honor in society.

Secondly, the position in national govenment system, like teacher, was regard as high level jobs. In the past, getting the position in goverment meant that your future life would be bright and predominant. For instance, in the ancient china, it was normal for a town to celebrate that there is a person from this town been nominated by the goverment. This person would get lots of presents from whole town and be congraduated by all the person he met. In addition, his family would be honored as well. To sum up, getting a job in government was excellent in the past.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that teachers were more prestigous in the past. This is because the few resourses in the past and the honor of the position in the government.