TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The educational system in each country is a key to advance the country because people who are serving the country as politicians, doctors, lawyers, etc at the first place have been educated in schools. The manner and quality of training each person benefited in the educational system greatly impact on the person's mindset, and as a result on his or her performance. Teachers in the educational system play the utmost important roles which their knowledge and behavior affect students and make their personalities. Nevertheless, sometimes it is declared that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past in comparison with nowadays. Regarding the behavior of society in my country, I strongly agree with this claim because of two reasons which I will explore them in the following essay.

To begin with, in recent years, the number of teachers has been drastically increased aiming to reduce the pressure on the teachers. In the past, maybe about 50 years ago, the number of students in each class was about 40 because of lacking the trained teachers. However, today, many persons have been trained and employed as teachers in my country, so the number of students in each class has reduced to 15-20 persons. This drastic increase in the number of teachers has made this job less valued and the people in my society think that being a teacher is not worthwhile because everyone that cannot become a doctor or an engineer can become a teacher!!

Secondly, by the drastic increase in the number of teachers, the government has reduced their salary. In consequence, the teachers get paid much less than any other employees even a low-rank clerk in a bank. Thus, when the government neglects teachers and their important roles in advancing the country, how can people perceive the real value of teachers? Unfortunately, in my country due to such viewpoints, talented people are attracted to medical and engineering jobs and they do not like to be a teacher at all. In this case, when the teachers are not very clever and smart, they cannot train creative students who can change the future.

In conclusion, since the basis of each society is its educational system, I contend that the government must pay more attention to the teachers and value their jobs. If the government appreciates the teachers, people subconsciously value teachers and talented people gravitate to this job.