TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We all know that teachers play an important role in helping students gain knowledge and experiences, with the fast develop of technology, people can learn knowledge in many different ways instead of listening from a teacher's lecture, such as from Internet or television. So that some people may think that teachers were more valuable in the past than the present, however, I personally disagree with this statement, and there are some reasons to support my view.

First, nowadays, education is more important than the past. This is because people live in the present require more skills than the past time, for example, people need to understand how to use computer to fulfil their tasks more effective. In order to keep the pace with this rapidly changing society, people are supposed to study constantly. Most of us learn those knowledge and skills from schools, as a consequence, we can claim that teachers is essential in our study process. Obviously, teachers are high valued and appreciated in the society.

Furthermore, becoming a teacher is more difficult than the past in our modern society. At the past time, it does not take too much effort for an individual to become a teacher, for instance, most of my primary school teachers were not graduated from universities, some of them only had high school degree. However, today almost all of the teachers should have a college degree from education area, hence modern teachers are more competitive than the past days, so that they are more valuable.

We have to admit that some people may think nowadays people can access to knowledge more easily than the past, many people can study efficiently by themselves. But we should consider the fact that even if you choose study online instead of study in a traditional classroom, you still being teaching by someone else, so that teacher remains important and crucial in modern life.

In conclusion, we can safely say that teachers are more valuable and are more appreciated than the past, not only because education plays an important role in modern life, but also being a teacher in today's world requires more effort and training.