TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

By and large, all people encounter numerous situations in their lives, which require to make proper decisions. These situations would be easy problems such as choosing which kind of style to wear in a birthday party, to complex dilemmas such as choosing right university major, right job, or even a romantic one-whom one should marry. These problems occur for every person at any age, including young people. There is a moot point in this case as to how much young people today, depend on their parents compared to past. An outstanding argument states that in the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them, but today they are better able to make decisions for their lives. I strongly concur with it. In the ensuing lines, I will delve into two reasons to amply substantiate my thesis.

The first reason which deserves some words is that by the flourish of the hectic lifestyle, parents can less take care of their children's decisions. The modern life has made people busier and by the dwindling time, parents have to devote to their children, they have to grow and act more independently. Regarding this fact, young people today get familiar since their early ages with making easy to hard situations. Gradually they develop better abilities to make decent decisions. This has caused them to act and decide more wisely compared to the youth in the past decades. For example, my cousin compared to me was grown in a condition that he was alone most of the time. He had to do his works independently. Now he relies less on his parents than me, when I was at the same age as him, for doing his various tasks including making a decision when facing complicated dilemmas.

The second reason occurring to my mind is that the advent of new technologies has made young children become more aware. In the past, access to information was much lower than nowadays. People were less educated and parents make decisions for their children intuitively. Parents had to make use of their knowledge and experience to guide their young children. However, by the gradual progress of information technology, the new generation has become more aware of their surrounding facts. Access to Online courses, Question and answer forums and most importantly the search engines, are all product of invention of the internet. Younger people are now even more aware and educated than their parents in a wide variety of areas of knowledge. Hence they can easily make decisions on their own.

In summary, all the presented ideas above get us to the conclusion that, young children today, much less dependent on their parent for making decisions, compared to past. This is not only because of the hectic life, that has made young children act more independently but also because of the progress of technologies that have made people more informed.