TPO 45

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Making decisions is one of the most crucial concerns for everyone. Nowadays, most people use different consultation before deciding. Some hold the view that young people have become more autonomous about selecting their life direction, while others think that today's young are as reliant on their parents leading as young people in the past. I strongly agree with the first group opinion that today's life has helped children to become more independent in compare with the past.

First, science development has facilitated decision making. In fact, psychologists have done valuable researches which have made deciding easier. For instance, they have found that people can be categorized into 16 types. Each person can find out about his type by simply taking an MBTI test which takes 30 minutes. People can understand about their personalities and appropriate careers to their personalities. This helps young who want to attend to university and had difficulty to choose their majors. However, people used to ask from their parents and use their consultation for choosing their future career. Also, science development has made suitable circumstance for appearing various consulting companies. As we know, the development in science prepares convincing situation for new science growth. For example, adviser was not a job in the past, but today we can find various companies that provide different advising services. These services have made decision making easier for young.

The busy lifestyle has made them become autonomous from the first age of their life. Indeed, human lifestyle has been changed in the last decades. This new lifestyle leads human life to become more independent. Core family is one of the change has occurred in the structure of families that has an effect on the personality of children. As we know, the number of core family has been increased in the last century. One of the effects of this change is that it makes people more independent. To shed light on my point, let’s assume a child in a core family. This child faces with different situations that he should make decisions in day care. Therefore, he faces with variety situations from the first stages of life. However, a child who was born in extended family spends his childhood with his grandparents, so he does not have a chance to engage in society before school. Therefore, it affects child preparation for facing with difficulties and finding a solution for them.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that nowadays children have become more independent in compare with the past. We can look for the reason of this change in both science development and busier lifestyle.